Indulge Yourself

 

cupcake-webyA Friday afternoon in my favorite bookstore was the perfect time to celebrate the end of a busy week. I couldn’t resist the strawberry cupcake with pink icing beckoning to me from the display case. One part of my brain complained about the number of calories; the other told me I deserved to treat myself special.So I did. Enjoying the first bite, I noticed how the pink cake looked against the red pleated paper wrapper. I grabbed my phone and received a number of strange looks as I took several shots. While the cupcake lasted a bit longer because of the impromptu photo shoot, the main benefit was giving myself permission to indulge without guilt. That’s not always so easy to do, but it often meets unspoken needs.

cupcakebite-web

About unsouthernbelle

I am a native New Yorker , transplanted to Memphis, who is a photographer, teacher, and wanderer. I am inspired by the beauty and stories that resonate from abandoned places and found objects. View all posts by unsouthernbelle

8 responses to “Indulge Yourself

Leave a Reply

