Zoltar Dealing the Cards

fortune-blur2-webStrolling along the boardwalk in Santa Monica, I was surprised to find a Zoltar machine. The movie Big had touched my heart years ago with Tom Hanks’s innocence as an overgrown kid who wished he’d become older. How often do we wish our lives away? Waiting for the weekend? Vacation? Losing twenty pounds? Graduation? We project ourselves into the future without thought to the time we surrender. Instead of savoring the present, it often passes unnoticed in the anticipation of the next big event in our lives.  While we know there are no guarantees, we spend time we don’t have making plans or worrying. Zoltar shuffles his cards and we wait in suspense. For me, distracted by my surroundings and needing to explore, I wandered off before collecting my fortune. That left  me more time left to make my own decisions before I grow up all the way.

About unsouthernbelle

I am a native New Yorker , transplanted to Memphis, who is a photographer, teacher, and wanderer. I am inspired by the beauty and stories that resonate from abandoned places and found objects. View all posts by unsouthernbelle

2 responses to “Zoltar Dealing the Cards

  • Dave

    Yes … true … we are all guilty of this. Even when we try and focus on the here and the now and the what’s-really-important … we still are distracted by that future that might be. How weird. How characteristically human. Also … have you noticed that the perhaps is less pronounced with age? It has been for me at least. I tend to be more able to enjoy today or this week … without having to anticipate next year or the year after that. Nice image to go with. D

    PS: Look like you’re back into the groove. Welcome back.

    • unsouthernbelle

      I think it’s an interesting problem, as I age I tend to worry less over small things and my timeframes of concern have shrunk. I still do it more than I should. I’m glad you’re seeing a change. I’m trying to find my groove. I have so many ways this blog could go because it feels like I’m not centered. Maybe I think too much. Thanks for the warm welcome.

Leave a Reply

