The Beauty of Closed Doors

pairofdoorsblur-webAs I wandered through Charleston ,the architecture called loudly in every direction. Doors , windows and structural details all begged to be noticed. There was so much to appreciate that you might be wondering why I chose these photos for my post. Their color and simplicity are part of the reason. While not the most elaborate or unusual, they tell a story. Lately, I’ve been reading about how we have too many choices and that many of us find it difficult to make a decision or to be satisfied with the choices we do make. It’s as if we’re afraid that we will miss out on an  opportunity for something better. Having choice is part of freedom, and while I wouldn’t want to surrender having options, sometimes the choices outnumber our needs. For me, if I’m shopping and I don’t find what I’m looking for, I’ll continue to look if I have a strong idea of what I want. I might not want to settle, but I can make a decision as to whether I should make a choice or wait for the perfect item to materialize. For more important decisions, after researching and soul-searching, you need to turn the handle confidently and take steps forward. It’s hard  for me to imagine  someone feeling like they settled for second best because they think something better is always waiting around the corner.The amount of disappointment and second-guessing that might create is heart-breaking.It seems so much more important to live in the present and not in What If. Having a few closed doors, especially if they wear a pretty shade of blue or enhance our surroundings gives us the opportunity to move on and find the most important pieces for our lives.We need to trust ourselves to listen to that quiet voice inside.

bluecornerdoorsblurweb

About unsouthernbelle

I am a native New Yorker , transplanted to Memphis, who is a photographer, teacher, and wanderer. I am inspired by the beauty and stories that resonate from abandoned places and found objects. View all posts by unsouthernbelle

13 responses to “The Beauty of Closed Doors

  • 2Spools

    It’s all too easy, especially today, to take comfort in exploring the choices we have. The hardest part is to take the step forwards and commit. Well written.

    • unsouthernbelle

      Thank you! I love exploring but sometimes the choices can overwhelm. Commitment is a difficult word for many people, yet without it, I think we miss so much. I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

  • Pairodox Farm

    Very nicely done indeed. Words from the wise. D

  • Mike Powell

    These were thought-provoking words with which to begin a new day, a day in which I have choices to make. I’m pretty comfortable, with only very rare exceptions, with the choices I make. I think it is because my objective usually is to make a good choice, and not worry about whether it is “the best” choice. I remember when I bought my car and paid I price I was happy with. Was it the lowest possible price I could have gotten? Who cares? And yet, people agonize over these kind of things and second-guess themselves, asking “what if” type questions. As you suggest, at a certain point in time you have to boldly grasp the handle and open the door and move forward.

    • unsouthernbelle

      Such a good point, Mike! A good choice rather than always the best, very well said. I think we need to decide which choices are the ones worth exploring deeply and which are not.Thanks for stopping by today.

  • grantresults

    Your doors are beautiful, as are your musings. I’ve taken many photos of doors in recent years. Sometime I’ll post a few. Doors are great metaphors in many ways. They may be locked or unlocked, intact or broken, new or old, open or closed, plain or elegant. They’re great foils for thoughts on the human condition. Glad you shared yours!

    • unsouthernbelle

      I love doors too! Thank you for your kind words. They just seemed to fit with what I’ve been reading and pondering. I’d love to see some of your door photos! Thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment.

      • grantresults

        Thank you! I will collect some doors and post them in the coming week then. They are scattered in many different digital albums. It will take a while to find them. And coming up with suitable words to go with them may take a while also….

      • unsouthernbelle

        I totally understand those issues! Sometimes the words are the hardest part. I look forward to seeing them.

  • J. E. Lattimer

    Hi- Just wanted to let you know that I nominated your work for “Blog of the Year 2012!” http://fictionalmachines.com/2013/01/13/blog-of-the-year-2012-two/ Keep up the great work & enjoy the day!

  • Rachael

    Ah, Charleston. I hope to visit there one day. It was brought to life for me through Pat Conroy’s “The Lords of Discipline”.

Leave a Reply

