Vintage Warmth in Winter Coats

beigecoatblur2-web
bluecoatwebFinding these vintage child’s coats transported me in time. One in soft blue and a blushing brown tempted my touch.Toddlers in wool coats, matching bonnets and velveteen leggings suggest another era. I can picture them with frost reddened – cheeks, bundled in plaid blankets and riding in shiny navy blue baby coaches –  almost like limousines compared to the streamlined strollers of today.

It’s hard to imagine active toddlers today surrendering their fleece , down, and freedom to wear these relics. As I finger the soft collar and am drawn to take it home,  I know it’s better not to try to buy memories because they are richer in my mind than in reality.

About unsouthernbelle

I am a native New Yorker , transplanted to Memphis, who is a photographer, teacher, and wanderer. I am inspired by the beauty and stories that resonate from abandoned places and found objects. View all posts by unsouthernbelle

2 responses to “Vintage Warmth in Winter Coats

Leave a Reply

