Giverney on LSD

For as much as I love black and white in all its moods and personalities, sometimes I just need color.  Shot in a nature preserve near home, this view was shot in the fall . While fall’s palette is a favorite of mine, it was more fun to play with the hue and saturation sliders. At first ,the colors were dreamy like Giverney in spring, but as they grew bolder so did I.Dramatic color heightens the senses and draws us in. Visiting this garden even for a short time provided an escape and change of scene, a welcome respite as days grow shorter and leaves fade to brown. Finding the color in each moment rejuvenates us.

About unsouthernbelle

I am a native New Yorker , transplanted to Memphis, who is a photographer, teacher, and wanderer. I am inspired by the beauty and stories that resonate from abandoned places and found objects. View all posts by unsouthernbelle

6 responses to “Giverney on LSD

  • ckponderings

    Nice idea! It works really well. 🙂

  • Pairodox Farm

    Nice. I was just about to ask whether you had played with the colors and the I noticed the sentence about the ‘sliders.’ What do you use as an editor? Photoshop? GIMP? Something else? I use GIMP and was just beginning to think about Photoshop and then thought that GIMP really does all that I want for the moment. Curious to know what allows you to get such nice effects. D

    • unsouthernbelle

      IHi There,
      I’m into easy! I was a photoshop baby but right now Elements 10 has been fine for most things. This photo was adjusted by using a hue/ saturation layer. I often just increase saturation or I’ll choose a particular color in the drop down menu, play with it, and slide it along the saturation bar until I see something, I like.I’m a very low tech person. I’m not sure what GIMP is, but if you’re comfortable with it, then my suggestion is just to experiment. You never have to show the ones that don’t work.

  • Mark Simms

    Fantastic colours…..now that really does look like an impressionist piece of art…Monet would be proud!

Leave a Reply

