A Cape Cod Sunset: A Reminder to Savor the Light

I took an art class. No big deal. Unless, like me, you can’t draw and find yourself in a class with a renowned artist as teacher and gallery worthy artists as classmates. In other words, outclassed and outperformed. But I don’t surrender easily and worked hard at sketching out in the midday sun and trying to work through problems. On the fourth day, an exhibit of student work was planned. I visited every other class to admire the work. When I returned, people had offered positive responses to my efforts.Not having time to think about it, I had scheduled a tour of the dunes for sunset.I hurried to the office and claimed a seat in the jeep. As soon as we entered the dunes, I could feel all those comparisons and concerns drift away on the wind. The dunes moved and changed in the wind, always to appear more beautiful and mysterious. More layers to a personality.The sunset was the reminder that the day’s trials ended and the time to give thanks and savor the light had arrived.I wanted to stand  on the beach in that tiny pool of light until I absorbed the lesson.

About unsouthernbelle

I am a native New Yorker , transplanted to Memphis, who is a photographer, teacher, and wanderer. I am inspired by the beauty and stories that resonate from abandoned places and found objects. View all posts by unsouthernbelle

12 responses to “A Cape Cod Sunset: A Reminder to Savor the Light

Leave a Reply

